Presidential Search

In April 2023 President Katy Prebble announced to the Holy Cross community of her intention to retire at the conclusion of the 2023-2024 school year. The Academy of the Holy Cross began to search process with the formation of a Search Committee led by Sister Ruth Nickerson, CSC ’61. 

Throughout the search process, communication with the Holy Cross community has provided updates and offered opportunities for input. 

In late November 2023 candidates visited Holy Cross and met with community members and leadership. The search culminates in the announcement of the next Holy Cross President, Emily Kasof, who will begin her tenure on July 1, 2024.

Search Committee

Lou Caceres - Member, Board of Trustees; alumna parent

Sister Esther Entsiwah, CSC - Member, General Administration ("Leadership Team") for CSC; Member, Board of Trustees

Barbara Gutierrez-Smith '02

Rick May - alumnae parent

Sister Ruth Marie Nickerson, CSC ’61 - MemberBoard of Trustees

Nancy Morrison O’Connor ’69 - Chair, Board of Trustees

Karen Schaeffer - former Member, Board of Trustees; alumnae parent

Stephanie Sprow Owens '00

The Academy of the Holy Cross selected the consulting firm Carney Sandoe & Associates to assist with the nationwide search for president. The consultants working with Holy Cross are Karen Neitzel ( and Michael Truesdell (

For Holy Cross-directed questions or comments related to the search, please email: